another day in paradise ?

Don’t get me wrong this place and this lifestyle could definitely be described as paradise. But like any other life there are good days and bad. Some days riding a motorbike or bicycle is like a dream. Some days I just really miss my car.

Today was one of those days. I headed to the grocery store this morning to get my weekly groceries before the crazy of the weekend starts. I borrowed my housemates motorbike as I was in a bit of a rush. On the way everything went well. I made it to the store and got everything I needed. I was in and out in under 30mins and was very happy. I had two large shopping bags and one smaller one. One thing you earn quickly living in Vietnam is how to transport more that just yourself on a motorbike. I placed one on the hook between my feet and two on the left handle bar. It was weighted a little unevenly but this isn’t my first rodeo.

I made my way out of the parking lot and as I turned onto the main road the left handle bar came right off. Before I knew it I was holding onto a handle bar carrying about 4kgs of groceries that was no longer attached to my bike. I swayed a little and then managed to slow down, pull over and place the handle bar back onto the bike. Now to be honest I found this hilarious! All I could do was imagine what I must have looked like to other people. I made my way home and still counted it as a successful trip. Yay, I had done it.

Maybe I spoke to soon because when I came to a stop and tried to put the kick stand down to bike fell over and petrol came pouring out! To be honest – I did not find this as funny. While not as dangerous as my previous calamity it was incredibly frustrating. My knowledge of bikes is extremely limited and took a call to my dad to confirm that the next time I drive that bike it’s not going to explode.

Guess it’s just one of those mornings.

It’s definitely not always so glamorous on this side of the world.

Alex Rae, xoxo

2 thoughts on “another day in paradise ?

Leave a comment