it feels like summer.

Wow! What feels like overnight, summer has arrived in Vietnam. Most days the temperature sits at about 34 degrees (celsius) and the humidity at 80% – all day and right through into the night. My day now consist mostly of me strategically moving from one aircon to another. Riding my bicycle is becoming more and more of a challenge but I’m determined to persist.

I have roughly two more weeks left until the summer program at my learning centre begins. This year I’m going to be teaching our summer kindergarteners. I’m getting more and more excited as the days go by but also stopping to enjoy my classes and schedule the way it is now. When the summer program begins I’ll go from teaching roughly two classes every evening on Monday, Tuesday, Friday and three on Saturday and Sunday with Wednesdays and Thursdays off to teaching Monday to Friday 8.00am-4.00pm. And yup, like most of the world I’ll have the weekend off! I can’t wait for that Friday feeling…

I signed up mostly because I’ve been eager for a change for awhile now. Making the decision to re-sign for one more year here in Hai Phong was definitely the right one for me but I must say it hasn’t always been easy coming back and doing the same thing I was the whole of last year. Don’t get me wrong, I’m aware this is what most people do day year in and year out and I’m so incredibly blessed to have new and exciting things happening more than regularly. I’m just excited to live on a slightly different, maybe more conventional schedule for a little. And that’s the added plus – it’s only for one month, four weeks.

Another thing I am eager to experience is teaching the same class everyday. Now I have five different classes that I see twice a week. I’m really interested in experiencing a more ‘typical’ school experience. Just for a little while.

Even more exciting than all of this is the fact that two days after the summer program ends I will be flying home for two weeks! My sister is having her baby then and I’m hoping to make it in time for the birth.

The down side to all of this is that I won’t be teaching my five precious classes (3 kindergarten, one primary and one secondary) for about six weeks! Other teachers will be covering all those lessons for me while I’m involved with summer and then on my holiday!

Lots of exciting things ahead but for now life is pretty low-key. Looking forward to the weeks ahead and what the hold. As usual I’ll keep you posted right here!

Alex Rae, xoxo

Leave a comment